Linguine with Spring Vegetables

Today is shopping day!  We have a baptism to go to on Saturday and it was a good excuse to drag my husband to the mall. Going to the mall is never complete without a trip to Macy’s.  My husband knew it was coming so he did not contradict instead just gave me a big sigh. Macy’s layout is set-up with Martha Stewart is the first section as you alight the escalator, next to the kid’s. They had gadgets on display which caught my attention.  They also had a flyer that had recipes that promote the use of Martha Stewart products. This is where I saw this recipe. Dinner tonight was whole-wheat Linguine with Spring Vegetables.

I used whole-wheat linguine but the recipe calls for just regular linguine. The difference aside for being healthier is the cooking time.  I also used dried tarragon instead of fresh because it was not available in the supermarket. I love McCormick dried herbs because it is freeze-dried and retains its color. The rule of thumb – for most herbs is: 1 teaspoon of the dried herb = 1 tablespoon of the fresh. The good thing about this recipe is that it uses vegetables that are in season and it is a one pot dish which is miracle says my husband since I use as

much as 4 pots or pans in fixing one dish.  I make sure that every meal has vegetables so this really is a winner and it is meatless. Another healthier option would be to use half and half instead of heavy cream and margarine instead of butter.

You can also find this recipe in Martha Stewart’s website. I try all the recipes that I post and this one surprised me.  I didn’t expect to end up in my blog.

I love vegetables and I think I might have put too much on my plate.

Ingredients

Coarse salt and ground pepper

3/4 pound linguine

1 pound asparagus (tough ends removed), cut into 1-inch lengths

1 medium zucchini, halved lengthwise (quartered if large) and thinly sliced

4 ounces sugar snap peas (stem ends trimmed), halved

1/2 cup heavy cream (or all-purpose cream)

1 tablespoon butter, cut into pieces

2 tablespoons fresh tarragon leaves (1 tsp if using dry herbs)

Directions

In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook pasta 4 minutes short of al dente; add asparagus, zucchini, and snap peas. Cook until vegetables are crisp-tender, about 3 minutes. Reserve 1/2 cup pasta water; drain pasta mixture, and set aside.

In the same pot, bring cream and butter to a simmer. Toss in pasta mixture and enough pasta water to create a thin sauce (it will thicken as it stands). Season with salt and pepper, and top with tarragon.

Tips

A healthier alternative to regular pasta is whole-wheat pasta.

Use dried spices if fresh is not available.  Rule of thumb for most herbs is 1 tsp dried herb is equivalent to 1 tbsp fresh herb.

Use half and half instead of heavy cream and margarine instead of butter for fewer calories.

Rub leafy herbs in the palm of your hand to release the flavor and aroma.

Enjoy!



2 thoughts on “Linguine with Spring Vegetables

Leave a Reply

