Soy Sauce Chicken

I have had this recipe in my file for the longest time.  I don’t even remember where I got the recipe from. But surprisingly, it was the first time tonight that we tried to fix it.  It was actually my husband who prepared the dish. Hey babe you can’t complain now, I did not take credit for it! hahaha.  Love my husband to death.  He’s my partner in crime in the kitchen.  Today I had to go to therapy and asked him if he could put the dish together.  He knew that I would be hungry when I get home.

I had no idea how this dish would turn out.  But surprisingly it was a familiar taste.  It was so much like a very popular Filipino dish, Adobo but with a twist.  To my Filipino friends, here’s a different way of fixing Adobo.  If I am not mistaken, we call the dish Chinese Adobo.

Here it is!

Ingredients

2 lbs chicken (I used boneless thighs)
2-inch ginger, sliced
4 cloves garlic (lightly pounded)
2 star anise
1 cinnamon stick (substitute – 2 tsps cinnamon powder)
1 dried honey dates (substitute – raisins)
1 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup dark soy sauce
1 tablespoon rice wine
3 dashes pepper powder
1 tbsp brown sugar
4 cups water

Directions

Put all ingredients (except the chicken) in a deep pot and simmer for 15 minutes.  Put in the chicken and turn up the heat to high and let it boil for 10 minutes.  Lower the heat back to a simmer until the chicken pieces are tender.  Serve over rice.

Tips

You can also use pork belly instead of chicken.

You can add quartered potatoes.

I used balsamic vinegar instead of rice wine for a sweet sour taste.

Reserve the sauce and use to make SOY SAUCE EGGS, or add boiled eggs to the dish while cooking.

You can do the same with tofu.

I also use leftover sauce in to substitute oyster sauce Lo Mein, yum!

Leave a Reply

