Barbequed Beef Short Ribs (Galbi)

I guess you can call me a shopaholic, grocery shopping though.  I try to go to the grocery as much as possible to get good deals.  Yesterday was Chicken Breast sale day.  That’s what I thought.  Oh my, just typing this post made me realize that I missed my Chicken Breast sale day! I guess I won’t have chicken breast recipe posts in the next few days.

Anyway, I found that the chicken was not on sale that day but it did not stop me from going around.  For the first time I saw beef short ribs cut into half an inch thick. Is it my luck or what?  Just this past week, I was going through my collection of cookbooks and was eyeing to make BBQ Short Ribs. I grabbed everything that was on the shelf (around 8 packs of about 1/3 pound each).

This recipe came from the cookbook “The Food and Cooking of Korea” by Young Jin Song.            

This dish is called GALBI in Korea meaning “Rib”.  The secret according to Song is “to marinate the beef overnight to allow the flavors to infuse”.  The use of Asian Pear aids in tenderizing the meat and the sake adds a slightly sweet edge, according to Song. This dish is usually served with stuffed cucumber kimchi.

Ingredients

2 lbs     beef short ribs, cut into half inch thick

For Marinade

4 spring onions, finely chopped

1/2 onion, finely chopped

1 Asian Pear, cored and chopped (substitute – Fuji Apple)

4 tbsp dark soy sauce

4 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp sesame oil

1 tbsp sake (substitute – rice wine)

2 tsp ground pepper

1 tsp sesame seeds

2 cloves garlic, crushed

1 tsp fresh ginger, grated

Directions

Prepare the marinade by mixing all the ingredients in a big, deep bowl.

Make sure the sugar is dissolved.

Add the short ribs to the marinade and coat the beef pieces.

Let the ribs marinate for at least 2 hours or overnight to allow the flavors to be absorb by the meat and the meat to tenderize.

Heat a heavy griddle pan or frying pan and add the ribs.  I cooked it in the grill for 3 minutes on each side.

Keep turning them to cook the meat evenly.

When it turns brown and crisp, remove from heat and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

