Bon Chon Chicken (KFC – Korean Fried Chicken)

This recipe was one of my misadventures.  I have a habit of asking friends for recipes and they would usually just give me the ingredients.  What I did for this dish was to marinate the chicken in all the ingredients that was given to me.  I dredged it in flour and I deep fried it.  It was very good.  I fixed it during a vacation in the Philippines.  I am sure my very good friend Pamy would vouch that it was good coz I noticed

that she did not stop eating it.  Ok, I guess she liked it more that the Carbonara I fixed. I never asked her though.

When I got back from my vacation.  I found the recipe that was given to me from way back.  I looked at it and gasped.  What I did was wrong!  So I made it again based on the directions on the recipe.  But I like my misadventure recipe better because the chicken has more flavor.

Here it is.

Ingredients

For the Chicken

1 lbs Chicken Pieces (I used skinless/boneless thighs – some prefer Chicken wings or chicken breast )

salt (for cleaning/washing the chicken)

1 Tbs Marukan rice  vinegar (rice vinegar is relative milder and sweeter.  Substitute – apple cider vinegar (also add a pinch of sugar if you like)

1 Tsp salt

½ Tsp black pepper

4 Garlic Cloves (whole)

1 Small onion (whole)

For the Sauce

3 Tbsp Kikkoman Soy Sauce (Substitutute – any soy sauce will do)

4 Tbsp Marukan Rice Vinegar

3 Tablespoons of Gochujang (hot red pepper paste , Substitute – several dashes of Tabasco)

1 Tsp of hot red pepper flakes

2 Large Garlic Cloves (or several small,minced)

1 Tsp Ginger (minced )

4 Tbsp of honey

1 Tbsp brown sugar

For Dredging

Rice flour, cornstarch or potato starch

For Topping

Toasted Sesame Seeds

Chopped scallions (green onion)

Directions

Rub the chicken pieces with salt. Wash thoroughly under running water.

Remove all excess fat and skin (skip this step if you are using chicken wings or if you want your chicken with the skin)

In a large pot, boil water and add all the ingredients For The Chicken.

Boil chicken for about 5 minutes and drain (if you chicken wings, boiling will make the skin more crispy)

Put the rice flour in a resealable bag and add the chicken pieces several at a time. Shake the bag and make sure the chicken pieces are fully coated.

In a separate deep pan, heat the oil.  Shake off extra flour from the chicken and slowly drop them in the hot oil.   Cook until golden brown.

In a separate sauce pan, mix all ingredients for the sauce. Cook until sauce thickens.

Coat fried chicken pieces with the sauce and top with sesame seeds and chopped scallions.

Tips

Boiling the chicken first makes the skin crisp and assures that the chicken is cooked all the way through

Shake off excess flour before frying. this just goes to the bottom of the pan and burns fast.

A little sauce goes a long way.  Add sauce slowly.  If you want the sauce more spicy, add more hot pepper flakes or Gochujang.

3 thoughts on “Bon Chon Chicken (KFC – Korean Fried Chicken)

Leave a Reply

