Belgian Waffles

I have wanted to make authentic Belgian Waffles for the longest time.  I tried using a pancake recipe to make waffles. I always thought that pancakes and waffles have the same recipe and the only difference was the way it is cook.  I realized that it wasn’t. The batter just overflowed and what I mess I made.  Now I know that pancake batter is more runny than waffle batter.  I learned this the hard way with our old waffle maker.  Since then my dreams of making waffles have been put to hold.

Last Christmas, our dear friend Victor gifted us with a waffle maker.  It took me almost a year to put it to use, I guess I am busy, hahaha.

I have searched long and hard for an authentic Belgian waffles recipe and guess this time I got it right.  I learned that Belgian Waffles have yeast!!!!!!  So that’s the difference.  Well here is my take on Belgian waffles.

Ingredients

2 1/4 c flour

2 x 1/3 c milk

1 1/3 tbsp yeast

3/4 c butter, melted

3 egg yolks

1 pinch of salt

3/4 c sugar

Directions

In a bowl, mix the flour and yeast diluted with 1/3 cup of milk.

Let rise at room temperature away from drafts.

Add the butter, sugar, 1/3 cup milk, salt and eggs.

Mix and let stand overnight.

Heat the waffle maker and when it is hot, lightly mist with cooking spray.

Pour 1/4 cup of dough at a time and cook until the waffle is golden on the 2 sides.

Sprinkle with sugar and serve with whipped butter and fresh fruits.

Leave a Reply

