Five Spice Pork

I love Five Spice powder.  It is my “go to” ingredient.  When I can’t think of anyway to fix something, I just use five spice powder.

Today, I was able to buy 1 pound of pork shoulder.  It was already late and I needed to put together something that does not really need to be marinated (that takes longer and I was already very hungry).  So what I did was to chop the pork shoulder into 1 1/2 inch cubes, seasoned it with salt, pepper, minced garlic, five spice powder, and some sherry wine and coated it with cornstarch.  I heated some oil and fried it for around five minutes or until the pork slices turn golden brown.

Here’s my “quick” Five Spice Pork.

Ingredients

1 lb. pork shoulder sliced into 1 to 1 and 1/2 inch cubes

1/2 tsp. sea salt

1 tsp five spice powder

1/4 tsp. freshly ground pepper

1 clove garlic, minced

2 tsps. shaoshing wine/sherry wine

1 tbsp cornstarch

oil for frying

Directions

In a deep pan, heat enough oil to fry pork.

In a bowl mix together pork shoulder slices, five spice powder, salt and pepper, minced garlic, sherry wine and cornstarch.

When the oil get hot, slowly place coated pork pieces in the oil.  Make sure that you do not overcrowd the pan. Wait until the pork turns slightly brown before you turn it.  Cook for about 5 minutes.

Drain pork fried slices in paper towels.

Serve with you favorite store-bought bottled sweet and sour sauce.

Leave a comment