40 Clove Garlic Chicken

Garlic heaven is what I call this dish. My husband calls it Garlic with Chicken, hahaha.  I don’t care how you call it, I loooove garlic.  I love it best when it is slow cooked or roasted.  Raw garlic strikes a punch.  I hardly eat raw garlic. But if cooked for a long time, garlic turns buttery.  It’s like turning a lion into a kitten. I would always poach garlic in olive oil or roast it in the oven or grill wrapped in foil and cook it for about 45 minutes.  I use it as spread for crackers or toast. But that is another story.

I hoard garlic.  I put lots of garlic in my dishes (an extra clove or two). But this time I hoarded too much.  So before it goes bad, I had to use it.  I would have to probably prepare 50 stir fried recipes before I could finish all the garlic that I have. Then comes 40 Clove Garlic Chicken. My “A-ha” moment! problem solved!

Garlic has a lot of health benefits.  It is known to regulate blood pressure levels. According to the
ScienceDaily article (Jan. 30, 2009), garlic acts as the world’s most powerful anti-oxidant.  It is also said to be a powerful natural antibiotic. Antioxidants can help to protect the body against damaging free radicals.

One warning though, this is not a date food if only one is going to eat this dish.  If both people are having it, I guess garlic breath doesn’t matter. To remove the garlic smell in your mouth, munch on parsley.

This time my husband put this dish together.  A round of applause to Clark.   Since we used the slow-cooker, it had to be fixed earlier.  He said that he was going to wait till I get hope. But when I got home, the dish was done. And yes, I still cook when I get home from work and always from scratch, unless I don’t feel well.   You should see the face of my hungry husband when dinner is delayed since still have to take photos, hahaha.  Sorry my dear.

So here’s the dish.

Ingredients

2 pounds of chicken (I used boneless, skinless thighs with all fat trimmed off)

extra salt to rub the chicken with

1 medium onion, sliced

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

40 whole garlic cloves, peeled with the bottom end trimmed (my husband used between 3-4 bulbs. You can use as many as you like)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp thyme

2 tsp paprika (I used sweet Hungarian paprika but any kind of paprika is ok)

1 cup no salt chicken broth (I used dry white wine. You can also just use water)

Directions

Remove skin and all visible fat from the chicken. Rub your chicken with salt to remove the sliminess and all the membrane.  I learned this trick from my mom.  She would always do this step when she cleans chicken.

You can also use chicken breast or one whole chopped up chicken. Just adjust the ingredients equivalent to the weight of your chicken.  Clean the same way as above.

In a large bowl, combine olive oil, garlic, salt, pepper, paprika & thyme. Add the chicken and mix it properly.

Line your slow cooker with onion slices.  Put the marinated chicken on top of the onion slices.

Slow cook on low for 6-8 hours.  If you do not have a slow cooker, you can cook it in the oven on a foil covered roasting pan at 200 for 6-8 hours or until chicken is tender or if you want a shorter cooking time roasted the chicken at 350 degrees for 40 to 45 minutes. If you only have the stove top, cook it in your pot that has the thickest bottom. This will prevent burning and regulate the heat. Add another onion and double up the chicken broth/water.  Cook it in medium high until it boils and reduce it to a simmer.  Cook until the chicken is fork tender.

Serve this dish with toasted french bread or brown rice.  I love dipping the bread in the thick sauce!  Just heavenly.  You can mash the clove on the french bread and use it as spread!

Enjoy!

Tips:

I used elephant garlic (the large bulbs).  Smaller garlic, like the Philippine garlic is more potent or stronger so use your better judgement.

Do not burn you garlic.  Burnt garlic tastes bitter.

You can prepare this dish the night before and marinate it overnight.  Put it in the slow cooker in the morning before you leave for work and by the time you get home it is done.  Just make sue you have enough liquid so it won’t dry out.  The chicken would give out some liquid too.

Fast cooking this dish will not result to a buttery garlic.  If that is ok and more convenient for you, then cook it in medium high heat.  Just make sure it does not dry out.

This dish freezes well.  When you are ready to eat it.  Just put it in the microwave for 5 minutes on high.

Sources:

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2009/01/090130154901.htm

http://www.garlic-central.com/garlic-health.html

2 thoughts on “40 Clove Garlic Chicken

    1. Paprika is made from made from peppers. There are two kinds of paprika. There’s the regular paprika (Hungarian Sweet Paprika) and the hot (Spanish paprika). If you want the dish to be a bit spicy, you can substitute it with cayenne pepper. If you want the regular paprika, you can use chili pepper. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

