Pineapple Pie

Kid's Play

My mom has been making pie for as long as I can remember.  Maybe more than 30 years.  But she would only make it on special occasions like birthdays (upon request), Christmas and New Year. During the Christmas holidays, she would make a lot and give every house on the block a pie each (even if she did not know them).  This pie has become popular among our families and friends that they would always ask me if I could bring my mom’s apple pie on gatherings.

This is her secret recipe.  But when I moved to the US I started craving for my mom’s apple pie and I had to get her recipe.

Here’s my “homage” to my mom!   

Ingredients

Pie Dough

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon coarse salt
2/3 cup shortening
5-6 tbsp ice water

Pie Filling

6-7 cooking apples (Fuji, Granny Smith, Crispin or Cortland…

View original post 655 more words

Leave a Reply

