Coffee Rub Pulled Pork

Coffee Rub Pulled Pork

 

When we got our slow cooker,  the very first thing we wanted to cook was pulled pork.  We did not want just the regular pork and bbq sauce recipe.  We want it to be something different and unique. We ground coffee to a fine powder and mixed it with several spices.  It turned out great.  We have made this recipe several times already.  As all my friends know, I do not measure.  I “guesstimate” based on my taste.

Ingredients

1/3 c. ground coffee

1 tsp. sea salt

1 tsp. smoked paprika

1/2 c brown sugar

½ tsp. freshly cracked pepper

½ tsp. garlic powder

2 lbs. pork shoulder

 

Directions

Mix all dry ingredients. Rub the mixture all over the pork.

Place pork in a slow cooker and cook on low for 8 hours.

If you want the pork to cook faster, slice it.

Once cooked, shred the pork with two forks. Remove the fat.

I usually double the recipe (since it is so good) because once cooked you’ll probably get ¾ of the original size (of the pork). You can use it in a lot of other dishes like enchiladas, tacos or omelets. If you plan to make a sandwich (as pictured above), you can fix it with your favorite bbq sauce.

Lately,  I have been using my InstantPot instead of my slow cooker.  On my InstantPot, I put the pork on top of the stand that comes with it and pour 1 cup of water on the bottom of the pot.  I use the meat setting or adjust it manually to 35 minutes and natural release for 10 minutes.

Note – You can also bake or smoke the pork, whichever you prefer.

 

 

Leave a Reply

